Thursday, September 3, 2009

Atlas Sound- Logos

1. The Light that Failed
2. An Orchid
3. Walkabout (w/ Panda Bear)
4. Criminals
5. Attic Lights*
6. Sheila*
7. Quick Canal (w/ Laetita Sadier)*
8. My Halo
9. Kid Klimax
10. Washington School
11. Logos*

The second album from the solo project of Deerhunter frontman Bradford Cox turns out to be a varied and overall enjoyable romp through glitchy, experimental indie pop. This album really reminded me of Bibio's "Ambivalence Avenue," just because the songs vary so much from track to track. The 8 minute Euro-dance of "Quick Canal" seems strange next to the straightforward indie of "Walkabout" or "Criminals," but it all works. Each track flows into the next, which works for the second half of the album but gets tiresome on the first. Having tracks 2, 3, and 4 sound like one track just wasn't a good choice. Great production and vocal effects abound. Give it a shot, it's pretty good, if not all that memorable.




No comments: